livingbetween

Just another WordPress.com site

Day 1

on February 2, 2012

My friend Myra is doing the 30 day blog challenge. I wanted to jump on board too. With a new baby and a Master’s class, I can’t promise to write every day, but I’ll try to write more often, anyway. Here is day one:

Day 1 – Write some basic things about yourself

Hmmm… I guess the first thing is that I hate this type of question. It is way too open ended a question for me. I am the kind of person who is drawn to activities where there are specific steps to follow: math algorithms, recipes, patterns… There is no “right way” to answer this prompt and that frustrates me.

So, I found these six questions I’m going to answer about me instead. It was actually my friend Myra who inspired this because of her love for “getting to know you” emails! Here goes.

1. Have you ever had something happen to you that you thought was bad but it turned out to be for the best?

Every break-up that I’ve ever had! Haha! And ironically, the break-up that hurt the most turned out to be with my husband! When I was a teenager, I dated my husband. We were both 15 going on 16 when we dated. Our families got along really well and were really important to us. He was a bit of an arrogant know-it-all and I was a bit of a goodie-two-shoes prude. He broke my heart by breaking up with me back then. But, as the years went by, I moved out East to Quebec for school. I lost some of my prudishness (though not all of it) and grew up a lot. I learned about myself, had fun, dated, met lots of people… My husband moved to Vancouver for school. He grew up a lot, lost the arrogance, learned about himself, sewed some wild oats, dated, met lots of people… You get the picture. I moved back home first. I started teaching, made a life for myself here. One day at the gym I ran into my husband’s mother. She told me he was moving back home again and asked if she could give him my number. She insisted it was just because he didn’t know many people here anymore (in other words, not a set-up). I agreed. Before that could happen, fate had something else in mind. On his way home from Vancouver, he stopped at Walmart to pick up a few things. I ran into him there. He invited me to dinner with his family and we’ve been together since! So, to make a long answer very short, breaking up with the love of my life the first time was awful, but truly the best thing for us.

2. What was one of the best parties you’ve ever been to?

I’m shy. Really shy. So parties are a bit of a challenge for me. I guess the best party I ever went to was my own wedding. I had a blast, my best friends were all there with me, and for the first time, I was okay with being the center of attention! I felt beautiful and confident. I had fun until I collapsed!

3. What was the last movie, TV show or book that made you cry or tear up?

I was going to talk about the movie 50/50, but then I noticed that TV show was an option. I watched this week’s episode of The Biggest Loser. Adrian was talking about giving birth to his first daughter at 6 months and her passing away after he held her. This kind of thing made me cry before, but since I had my preemie daughter at 7 months, this kind of story pushes me to hysterics. Even just writing about it makes me tear up. On to the next question.

4. What’s the hardest thing you’ve ever done?

Tough one… Probably teach a group of boys that were getting into all kinds of trouble without the support of my administration. My principal at the time told me that I was a horrible teacher. It made me question my whole life. Thank goodness I changed schools the next year.

5. What was the last experience that made you a stronger person?

Being pregnant and giving birth to my 32 week preemie. I spent about 30 days in the hospital, had extreme high blood pressure, went through kidney failure, had dialysis, went through labour, had a c-section, then when she finally got here, spent 5-13 hours a day for 42 days visiting the NICU.

6. What did you do growing up that got you into trouble?

The biggest trouble I ever got into was in 6th grade. (Goody two-shoes, remember?) I was fairly new to the city and the school. We had taken a test and Mme C had the marked papers on her desk and was out of the room. I wanted to fit in so on their urging, I started looking through the papers for marks. Mme C came in then. She was furious. She phoned my parents. They were furious! I was grounded for weeks!

Hope you know me better now!


One response to “Day 1

  1. missmylin says:

    Aww, glad to spread the inspiration to write 🙂

    You were absolutely beautiful at your wedding. I’m still so honoured that you invited me to be a part of that day. I can’t believe anyone could tell you that you’re a horrible teacher! And I so don’t remember that incident in grade 6. I remember seeing you across the classroom and thinking that you had the most amazing hair. And I remember asking you to sit with me on the bus after school. 23 years ago? Is that right?? (And you still have amazing hair!!)

Leave a Reply

