livingbetween

Just another WordPress.com site

The Wonder of Wonder

on March 24, 2012

For those who have been following me for a while, through three blog names, you know that one of my passions is reading, and in particular, books for children grades K-8. I used to be fairly active in reading and blogging about books. For some reason, perhaps the time I spent in the hospital during my pregnancy, or the business of being a new mom, first to a preemie NICU baby, then just having a new baby at home, but I am ready to get back in the book reading and book blogging saddle!


 

I couldn’t have picked a better book to bring me out of my reading and blogging slump.


Wonder

By R.J. Palacio

Description from Goodreads: August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances? (313 pages)

 

This book is a very fast read. The chapters are very short and easy to read. There are different sections in the book as the story ends up being told from several characters’ points of view. It is very powerful and elicited from me strong emotional reactions while I was reading. I quite literally laughed out loud, sobbed uncontrollably and cheered. It was one of those books that I am glad I read at home and not in public because there is no way I could have restrained my reactions. However, at the same time, this is a book that I just want to share with everyone. I loved all the characters… (Well, maybe not Julian and his mom!) The characters and the story make you want to be a little kinder to others.

 

This is a book that I think would be great for middle years students. From a teacher’s perspective, this would fit in well with a unit on bullying and about the power that people can have depending on the decisions that they make. Other books that fit in this genre include “Out of My Mind” by Sharon Draper, and “Rules” by Cynthia Lord.

 

I gave this book a resounding 5/5 stars! I read the 313 pages in two days. As one of my Twitter friends recommended, don’t read this book until you have time to finish it! It is THAT good!

I look forward to reading and blogging more about books! Take care.


Leave a Reply

