livingbetween

Just another WordPress.com site

Week 8 Crochet Along

on April 22, 2012

Welcome to another week. It has been a crazy one around here for me. My baby girl caught the worst stomach flu I’ve ever seen. We ended up in the ER twice with her this week. She is now finally starting to feel a little better, but she is living on Pedialyte and rice cereal. It is so hard to watch your baby cry and cry because she doesn’t feel good and know that there is really nothing you can do for her. So, crocheting has been my mental sanity this week.

 

I bought my first pattern this week. I normally stick to free patterns off the internet, but I kept coming back to this pattern over and over again, so I decided to go for it. It is called Realta by Olivia Rainsford. Click on the picture to link to her pattern if you are interested. I truly believe that this pattern is well worth the money. Included in the purchase is the full pattern for all pieces, including pictures for a more visual explanation, a printer-friendly version without pictures, information on planning with suggested layout and a blank layout page to plan your own colours if you want to deviate from her suggestion.


 

I love the bright colours in this afghan. I thought that this would be a great way to use up a bunch of my stash. Come on! You all know that you have one! So, here are the colours that I chose for my afghan. I had all the colours except for the lime green, which I bought at Walmart from the bargain bin. They are all Bernat or Lion Brand value yarns. I also had to pick up some black for the main colour.


So, as I said, crocheting was my mental saving grace this week. I managed to finish the first row of the afghan!


 

So, I also finished week 7’s square for the crochet along. Our afghans are coming along! First is my square and then there is Myra’s square.


Jamie’s week 7 square

 


Myra’s week 7 square

 

 

This week we will be crocheting the Kata square by Penny Davidson at The Creative Penny. If you click on the picture below, it will link you to her pattern. There is an update to the pattern on this page, but in order to get it, you must register at a third party website. Feel free to do this if you want. I decided to just follow the pattern on the webpage. I have already made this square as I wanted to test the pattern before I sent you there! However, I’m keeping my picture until next week. The one change that I did make is that for the final round, I had to do dc’s instead of sc’s. I love the final product. Can’t wait to see yours!


Happy crocheting!


One response to “Week 8 Crochet Along

  1. […] for this week, but the link goes straight to the Ravelry page for the pattern) Square #6 Square #7 Square #8 Square […]

Leave a Reply

