livingbetween

Just another WordPress.com site

Week 9 Crochet Along

on April 30, 2012

Welcome back! I’m going to try something different for this week’s square. But first, here are the week 8 squares! You may notice that I messed up on one round of the square (can you see where?) but I liked it so much that I didn’t bother going back to change it.


My square


Myra’s square

 

So, this week I wanted to try writing my own square… I called it Reflections! If this square exists somewhere else, I’m sorry. I don’t remember seeing it anywhere. This is my first time trying to write a pattern, so again, I’ll take suggestions… Please feel free to use, share, adapt, or pin it… Just please don’t say that it is your own creation!

 

Week 9 Square – Reflections

By Jamie Forrest, April 2012


Round 1a – Ch 4 and attach to form a ring. Chain 3, 2 dc in ring, ch 2, 3 dc in ring, pick up second colour.

 


Round 1b – with second colour, 3 dc in ring, ch 2, 3dc in ring, ch 1, sc in 3rd chain of beginning ch 3

 


Round 2a – ch 3, dc around connecting sc, dc in each dc from previous round, 2dc ch 2 2dc in ch2 space, dc in each dc from previous round, 2dc ch 2 in ch2 space, pick up colour 1

 


Round 2b – dc into ch2 space wrapping hook with both sides of colour you picked up, dc in ch2 space, dc in each dc from previous round, 2dc ch2 2dc in ch2 space, dc in each dc from previous round, 2dc in ch2 space, ch1, sc in 3rd chain of beg ch 3.

 


Rounds 3-5 – Repeat steps 2a and 2b 3 times

I forgot to take a picture for the next two completed steps. Sorry! You can see them in the next picture. There are five smaller rounds, then you can see the change to the wider round.

Round 6a – ch 4, tr around connecting sc, tr in each dc from previous round, 2tc ch 2 2tc in ch2 space, tr in each dc from previous round, 2tc ch 2 in ch2 space, pick up other color


 

Round 6b – tr into ch2 space wrapping hook twice with both sides of colour you picked up, tr in ch2 space, tr in each dc from previous round, 2tr ch2 2tr in ch2 space, tr in each dc from previous round, 2tr in ch2 space, ch1, sc in 3rd chain of beg ch 4.

 


Rounds 7-8 – Repeat rounds 6a and 6b two more times

 


Round 9a – ch 1, sc round attaching sc, sc in each tr of previous round along the side, sc ch 2 sc in ch2 space, sc in each tr along the next side, sc ch2 in next ch 2 space, pick up other colour, finish off first colour

 


Round 9b – sc in ch 2 space, sc in each tr of previous round, sc ch2 sc in ch 2 space, sc in each tr of previous round along side, sc ch 2 in ch2 space, join with sl stitch to first sc, finish off. Weave in ends.

 


 

Happy crocheting my friends!


3 responses to “Week 9 Crochet Along

  1. […] livingbetween Just another WordPress.com site Skip to content HomeAbout ← Week 9 Crochet Along […]

  2. […] Square #1 Square #2 Square #3 Square #4 Square #5 (I’m not entirely sure why I can’t find the blog post for this week, but the link goes straight to the Ravelry page for the pattern) Square #6 Square #7 Square #8 Square #9 […]

  3. Mme Aiello says:

    I love crocheting… but haven’t done it since my last mat leave (lil dude is 5 now!) aside from crocheting milk bags for Haiti a couple of years ago. Your pretty patterns are inspiring me… I’d like to start up again, but need to track down a small, simple project to get me going!

    Do you still find time, now that you’re back at work?

Leave a Reply

