livingbetween

Just another WordPress.com site

What’s holding you back? #saskedchat summer blog challenge

on July 3, 2015

So, as you can see, my blog has laid dormant for a long time…  It has been an exciting but busy year for me.  I just completed my first year as a teacher-librarian and loved every second of it.  Having said that, I haven’t even opened this blog.  For me, this week’s topic for the blog challenge was a timely one, what’s holding me back?

The context in which it was asked, and the discussion held last night on Twitter under #saskedchat, meant for this question to be broad in its application.  What’s holding you back from doing what it is you want to do in your professional lives?  However, when Kelly Christopherson (@kwhobbes) first posed this question, I was thinking in the context of blogging.

I read blog posts every day.  I learn from them.  I’m inspired by them.  I get ideas from them.  I turn ideas into realities because of them.  I recognize their value and importance to my professional growth.  So, why haven’t I contributed back to this amazing community of sharing?  The simple answer is: I’m scared.

What I tell people is that I’m busy learning a new job.  I’m busy with my daughter.  I don’t have time to write.  I’m not a great writer.  I might have time today, but I probably won’t in the fall when we are back to school, so why bother starting.  I don’t have any ideas. I would rather be reading. (This last one just might be true!)Forrest Family (May 2015)

Deep down, however, the dialogue is different.  Who would want to read it?  My ideas aren’t worth sharing.  My ideas aren’t original.  What if what I write doesn’t match what I mean?  What if I get negative, or downright mean, feedback? (I have seen how mean people can be in the anonymity of the online world.

But really, I’m not being fair.  I’m not being fair to myself. I’m not being fair to my virtual colleagues who share with me.  I’m not being fair to my students who I encourage to step out of their comfort zone to give new things a shot.

So, today, I start my summer journey of blogging.  Today, I take the plunge.  I’m going to commit to 9 weeks of saskedchat blogging then we’ll see where things go from there.  I even contributed the topic for next week’s blog! I invite you to join in the journey yourself.

Clink HERE to see the blog challenge list and #saskedchat summer chat topics.


10 responses to “What’s holding you back? #saskedchat summer blog challenge

  1. Ferrah says:

    Great post. You echo my sentiments exactly, about blogging. I started off strong when I decided to blog. However after 4 or 5 posts, I began to make excuses around “No time to blog.” However, I think your writing has clarified true feelings-hard to carve out the time to do it when you aren’t certain of your voice or if you have can say anything that is truly adding value. It’s a risk & frightening. I commit (when I get back to a computer) to walk with you!

  2. I love this…

    Everything about re-igniting a journey… especially when it comes to blogging. I haven’t found anything yet that compares my friend.

    It is the foundation of my thesis research & writing…

    I took on this challenge last year… 30 days of blogging and it changed me. Who I am as a writer, a learner, and most especially as an individual.

    I am not sure I can commit to another round of a blog challenge… my procrastinating self would love it… but i am in the final stages of writing my thesis so I need to buckle down.

    I am excited to walk alongside you though friend…. sideline cheerleader for sure!

    • Thank you Jana! I completely understand! A thesis is a big thing! Take the internal dialogue I have about blogging and multiply it by a million and you get my dialogue about writing a thesis! Best of luck! I look forward to hearing about your learning. I also really appreciate the sideline cheerleaders!

  3. jbruce0116 says:

    I totally relate to what you’ve written. I haven’t even committed to a platform. I’ve done one entry on Medium and one on Edublogs. I also wonder who will read what I’ve written, and I worry about trolls. When I get home I will join you in this challenge. Thanks for articulating and overcoming your fears.

  4. kwhobbes says:

    We’re all scared. That’s what so great about being in a group of educators that are working at the edges, being able to say:

    “I’m scared”

    and then, just as is happening here, see that we aren’t alone and we have support.

    No one likes rejection BUT even worse, for me, is being irrelevant and ignored. I’d rather have someone tell me I’m wrong or dense or just about anything else but to have our words echo is a chasm of aloneness is sometimes self- defeating.

    I’m so glad you’ve written this – because it puts it out there and now you, and us, can move on to create our works of art and share them, get feedback, grow and learn. Oh, the worlds we’ll see and discover together at the edge of possibility!

  5. […] edges of fitting in. I almost missed it because I was scared. As Jamie Forest explores in her post What’s holding you back? fear holds us back and gives us an excuse not to. It reminds us that being curious has […]

  6. […] edges of fitting in. I almost missed it because I was scared. As Jamie Forest explores in her post What’s holding you back? fear holds us back and gives us an excuse not to. It reminds us that being curious has […]

  7. Trina C says:

    Ah, yes. Fear. I know the feeling well. I’m jumping in, too. Looking forward to the journey!

Leave a Reply

